top of page


Inc. Chamber & Full Orchestra

The Works of H. Leslie Adams

Available from

Clarinet Trio

Trio in D Minor for Clarinet, Viola and Piano (a.k.a. Clarinet Trio) In four movements [2011] 30 minutes

The first movement, Andante, is in a broad three-part form. The A section has a languid melodic theme in D Minor, with a moving accompaniment underneath. The B section changes to a more jovial, sprightly mood, with staccato notes and intervaled leaps. The return of A brings back the slower tempo, which is sustained until the end.

The second movement, Allegro, has a kind of march-like rhythm, in B flat minor, with the first section containing short repeated sections. The mid-section continues the basic mood, only with more broad and expansive rhythmic figures. The first section is heard briefly, closing the movement with sharp accents in E flat minor.

The third movement, Moderato, begins slowly with sustained block chords in A Major, over which a dolce melody appears. A second theme begins in the clarinet and is picked up by the other instruments. A da segno allow the listener an opportunity to hear these passages again, before a Coda quietly closes the movement with block chords echoing the beginning.

The fourth movement, marked Con moto, has an arpeggioed piano figure in D Minor, under a forthright-stated theme., The other instruments pick up on this bold melody, creating a rhapsodic mood. A B-section continues this feeling, with a widening scope and more complex rhythmic patterns. A da segno repeats the first theme, only more quietly, before the other instruments join in robustly. A Coda utilities the rhythmic qualities of the preceding passages, before slowing down for a quiet ending, bring the Trio to a close.



Quartet in D Flat for Strings (a.k.a. String Quartet) In four movements [2003] 32 minutes

The first movement, Larghetto appassionato, utilizes three main themes, dominated by a lyrical first motive which is treated in quasi-augmentation during the mid-section. The second movement, andantino calmato, uses alternating 5/8 and 6/8 meters with flowing lines. The third, Andantino giocoso, has a dance-like character with bright rhythms. The final movement, Molto marcato, in perpetual motion, is marked by recurring ascending and descending sixteenth-note patterns in a spirited manner and reaching a brilliant climax.


Trombone Quartet. In one movement. [1975] 6 minutes

A virtuoso work, due to the technical prowess and endurance called for in this single-movement piece. A main theme introduced early on dominates the work as it recurs throughout the many passages of rhythmic vitality. Complex rhythmic patterns alternate with varied meters to create a broad and assertive statement.

Full Orchestra

"Ode to Life" (16 min.)

Chamber Orchestra

"Love Expressions"  (10 min.)

Two movements: "Love Waltz" and "Love Ballad"

bottom of page